09 F150 getting updated finally

Discussion in '2009 - 2014 Ford F150 Truck Forum' started by bigrigfixer, Feb 26, 2021.

< Previous Thread | Next Thread >
  1. bigrigfixer Article Contributor Founding Member Canadian Chapter

After years of basic maintenance, it's finally getting some upgrades.

I am a commercial transport mechanic, so I am fully capable of performing these jobs, but I'm just not set up to do the engine work at home. So I have to admit, I am paying somebody to do some of it. They've had my truck since Tuesday, and I'm looking forward to getting it back tomorrow.

Anyway, since my wife got her Jeep, we discussed either upgrading from an F150, downsizing to a Ranger or New Bronco, or even getting back into a car (never gonna happen as a primary vehicle). Rather than spend 30, 40, or even 50,000 on a new vehicle, I felt it would be more beneficial to upgrade my current truck. So what is being done this week is new spark plugs and coils, cam phaser lockouts and tune, timing chain and tensioners, a cracked exhaust manifold and a bunch of broken studs.

The rest I'll be able to do in my driveway. On order are Raptor head and tail lights, should be here in a couple weeks. In a couple months I'm planning on a Flowmaster Outlaw cat back, backup camera, and a tonneau cover. Then my moonroof needs attention again.

I'll report on the plugs and cam phaser lockout tune in a few days.

Tags:
    clux likes this.
  2. bigrigfixer Article Contributor Founding Member Canadian Chapter

After having it back for just over 24 hours, I'm happy with the results. No more exhaust leaks. No more valve train noise. Nice and quiet again, doesn't sound like a piece of neglected junk. The guy showed me the seals on my tensioners were blown out, and one of the chain guides were cracked.

As for power, basically going by the seat of my pants, it pulls better from a stop. Top end is a little weak compared to before, but it still pulls pretty good. Glad I did it.