1940 Ford 1 ton project - starting out

Discussion in '1947 and Older Pre F-Series Ford Truck Forum' started by Dale 1940, Nov 21, 2023.

< Previous Thread | Next Thread >
  1. Dale 1940

Hi, I am new to this forum so please bear with me. I have done a couple of restorations (69 MGB and 65 Cutlass vert) but this is my first try at a Ford. I acquired a 1940 Ford 1 ton that I believe is in reasonable shape. My intention is to take the body off and put it on a modern platform so that it will be a reliable daily driver. The engine in the truck is ceased as are all the wheels so I don't think a total restoration is possible and that is taking me down the daily driver route. I was hoping that someone out there has done this before and could give me some direction to what kind of frame I should be looking to put under the truck. The wheelbase is 122 inches so I need a similar sized frame although I am open to shortening the box to accommodate a shorter frame (unless that is sacrilegious in the Ford world). Any help or suggestions would be most welcome.

Ford Truck.jpg #ad

Tags:
    iicap likes this.
  2. iicap

Hi Dale 1940, Welcome to FTZ.
    From the first I Can't answer the questions you ask. Me and prob most members here would love to see it sit on a Ford frame and be Ford powered.
    THESE are just some thoughts.
    Working with with what you have, thinking a very sound frame, popular are front suspension conversion from Ford Crown Victoria car, Mustang front suspensions and maybe some custom offers. Next this truck has Torque Tube Drive (enclosed driveshaft). I'd ask you, Does This Truck, have 1 transverse rear spring or 2 springs, 1 on each frame rail??? You would be wanting to go to open driveshaft with your updating and may have to add rear spring perches to the frame and then, rear end choices would be endless, like with disc brakes already on the axle.