1966 F-100 steering column glory

Discussion in '1961 - 1966 Ford F100, F250 and F350 Truck Forum' started by For-dragon, Jan 11, 2018.

< Previous Thread | Next Thread >
  1. For-dragon

Hello all. It's been months since I've been able to post (pregnant wife, now new baby girl = no free time) and although I've been on a few other forums a bit in the past I'm still new to this one. I know several of you guys bounce around forums and I am in need of your sage wisdom.

With the help of a great Ford-Trucks member I purchased my F-100 a few years ago and she runs well and drives well overall, but I've noticed a few issues I am fairly confident are either interrelated or a sign of a progressive problem. As the heading indicates everything is related to the steering column (or I'm totally wrong), which I know nothing about really.

Facts:
    1966 F-100, upgraded to power steering and brakes
    350W from an 1980 F-150

The first issue I noticed was that when I made turns (beyond a normal curve in the road), the transmission selector will shift into another position as the wheel turns...D into N or OD depending upon the direction. It was a quirk, sure, but it's a '66 who cares. I can remedy this by holding the gear selector lever and simply turning while holding it in place and things are fine...other than needing a third hand. For the record, this does also happen when in reverse and will shift into N, thankfully so far not into P.

The second issue I noticed is that the turn signal canceller did not seem to work every time, then at all, and it will (obviously) remain on after a turn and once the wheel has been re-set to forward. Simple fix by manually cancelling, but less fun to drive as these things mount.

Number three, is that around eight months ago the horn stopped working. This did occur around the same time that my generator went bad, but with it replaced and all electrical up and working again the horn still does not work. Less annoying, but not right.