1978 F100 battery not charging

Discussion in '1973 - 1979 Ford F100, F150, F250-F350 Truck Forum' started by Lightning Jack, Nov 13, 2021.

< Previous Thread | Next Thread >
  1. Lightning Jack

My 1978 F100s battery isn’t charging, I replaced the alternator but that didn’t help. I’m thinking next I will replace the regulator but I’m wondering what you guys think, if any of you have had this problem before.

Cheers,
    LJ

Tags:
  2. BlueOvalex

Jack,
    Hopefully you own a VOM volt ohm meter. Set it on dc volts and see what the voltage is at the battery,
    With the engine running it should be +/- 13.8 volts. This will confirm the charge or no charge issue.
    If not, then check for bad connections, splices in wiring.
    I always prefer checking and finding the problem source rather than throwing parts at a problem.
    I am not a mechanic, nor did I sleep at Holiday Inn last nite but I have attended the school of hard knocks my whole life. LOL
    Good luck.
    My .02 worth

3. BKW Founding Member

The needle on the amp gauge barely moves, if it's not charging , it will show a discharge, but you have to look close.

4. Lightning Jack

I do have a volt meter, and when it was running it was only 12.3 volts. After I replaced the regulator it was 14.5 volts.

5. BlueOvalex

First, glad you got it fixed.
    Wonder if that was your original Radio Blank 1.jpg #ad
    Radio Blank 2.jpg #ad
    problem ?
    As BKW stated the factory volt gauge is very hard to read,, That is why I installed a after market voltage gauge.

6. Lightning Jack

I think it was the problem, not the alternator. But the alternator was old anyway. I’ll have to look into getting a better volt gauge. Also the engine is the 300 inline 6. I’ve been thinking about putting a four barrel on it sometime.

7. iicap