Help. Overheating

Discussion in '1967 - 1972 Ford F100, F250 and F350 Truck Forum' started by RP67F100, Jun 22, 2024.

< Previous Thread | Next Thread >
  1. RP67F100

So I have my 67 some what on the road, but dealing with overheating.
    Engine is a 76-302 and C6 that was in the truck when I got it . I drove it a few miles before I disassembled the truck and had no indication of overheating then either the old radiator
    While engine was out I flushed out the block and heads with all freeze plugs out. It was pretty gunned up but was clear when I got done. Installed a new aluminum high flow water pump,Intake and 160 T stat, and new 4 row aluminum rad with dual electric fans that come on with key. Timing is correct, and fans are turning right direction
    Water pump recommend a low restriction T stat . I can go about 5 miles with T stat, and 2 without. All the hoses are new with 50/50 coolant
    I’m at a loss any ideas

Tags:
  2. 1941 Ford PU

I'm no expert as my condenser and fuel system will verify.
    I'd guess there is some sort of blockage that is creating the overheat.
    Unfortunately it sounds like it might be in the block.

Mike

3. iicap

This is a WILD guess only. Is it possible that water pumps for conventional V-belts and those for Serpentine belts turn opposite directions and you don't have the correct one in your New Aluminum Water Pump??

Cap

4. iicap

5. RP67F100

I did go back and recheck the water pump info, and it claims stock replacement except for high flow and recommends a low restriction T stat. Nothing about serpentine belts or reverse direction

6. 1941 Ford PU

It sounds like some of that gunk you flushed out when you cleaned the block may have come loose elsewhere and now has moved to
    a position that is blocking the flow. Can you check whether there is flow into and out of the engine when it is running?