98 Expedition Eddie Bauer Flashing interior Lights

Discussion in '1997 - 2003 Ford F150 Truck Forum' started by macman_85602, Aug 15, 2016.

< Previous Thread | Next Thread >
  1. macman_85602

Finally I got this in the right place.

I just got a 98 expedition Eddie Bauer and the interior lights flash when the drivers door is open. It is a middle speed flash not super fast and not super slow. I read that this could be the gem module but not sure because I am new to trucks of this vintage. The door ajar light is on some times. I sprayed the door latches out with break cleaner and that made it a little better but I still get the flashing lights when the door is open and if I open any of the other doors the interior lights come on steady. I have been replacing the interior lights but haven't replaced the running board lights yet. Also the drivers side door light works when it wants to . Currently I pulled relay 1 from the cab fuse panel to make the flashing stop but would like to get them all working. I am trying to find a wiring diagram and pin outs for the drivers door plug in the cab.

Thanks.

Scott

Tags:
  2. FTZ HAIC Staff Member Oregon Chapter Founding Member

I'd go to the GEM as a last resort, because even on the newer models if the GEM doesn't get adequate power it'll cause flashing, sometimes with the dash lights.

The GEM module can set codes without turning on the dash light. So I'd scan codes to see if the GEM module has a failure or pending failure. If that passes I'd hunt for something causing a low power issue. Remove the passenger side kick panel and check the ground connections for corrosion and clean if needed, they feed the GEM and PCM.

3. macman_85602