Coolant Help

Discussion in '2004 - 2008 Ford F150 Truck Forum' started by CapeMay609, Nov 14, 2015.

< Previous Thread | Next Thread >
  1. CapeMay609

Hey guys, I have a 2006 f150 lariat 5.4 triton I just purchased a few months back with 80,000 miles on it.

I recently have been hearing a gurgling or even a water sound from under my dash board on cold mornings. Note I don't even use my heat or air conditioner and I drive about two miles to work, park my car and turn it off and for a minute or so I hear gurgling or a slushing noise. Note some days I don't hear it when it's 60 degrees out and warm for the day.

Now a week ago I took it to the dealer and they said yes your heater plugs were clogged, they fixed that and I can now still hear the noise....

So I have been searching around and allot of website have been saying that it's my coolant level. Now I just drove to work and here is a pic of my coolant level. I'm just new to all of this guys and if you cold give me some advise please do so, thank you

(Also what kind of coolant should I buy?)
    (I live near a Walmart, Napa, autozone and advanced auto parts)

image.jpeg #ad

Tags:
  2. Campspringsjohn Founding Member

That shouldn't be low enough to make any difference in anything. But, just to be on the safe side, topping it off is a good idea. I would think any that is the same color would work. You can find Motorcraft at most parts places now, and even Walmart. Just make sure it's for the truck you have. There may be a slight difference between gas and diesel coolants. I know diesels have to have additive added to prevent cavitation. That shouldn't be an issue with gas engines. You can buy it either already mixed 50/50, or you can buy anti-freeze that you have to mix distilled water with to get it to the desired strength you need.

3. CapeMay609

Thank you , when you say topping it off do you suggest I get the 50/50 kind because I'm only putting in a little bit?

4. Campspringsjohn Founding Member