Cab mounting- front

Discussion in '1953 - 1956 Ford F100, F250 and F350 Truck Forum' started by stevep5b, Jun 1, 2016.

< Previous Thread | Next Thread >
  1. stevep5b

Hi all, I'm new to F100's and have recently purchased a 1953 over hear in the UK. It is in a big mess and needs work and wonder if you kind folks on here could assist? The truck has been modified substantially over the years and it now has a boxed chassis . 4 link rear suspension. Volvo front axle. Ford Mondeo steering ram and column. So as you can see, bits from all over.
    One area of concern is the front cab mount that seems to have the incorrect parts fitted allowing the cab to move around excessively and cause the front fenders ( wings ) to rub on the front bumper. wonder if this is a common problem, and weather I should mount the cab with a solid mount directly to the chassis. Your thoughts would be welcome.
    Thanks Steve

Tags:
  2. stevep5b

Thanks

no number plate.jpg #ad

3. dustybumpers Article Contributor Founding Member

Post us a picture of what you have, so we can figure what they did.
    We have a lot of talented people here, I'm sure we can figure out how to straighten it out

4. stevep5b

This is all I have in the way of pictures. The first is in the cab and the other the elongated hole on the chassis support. the third is the rubber mounting blocks approximately 3 inch diameter.

20160601_120730.jpg #ad

20160601_121833.jpg #ad

Cylindrical_Rubber_Mounting_Threaded.jpg #ad

Last edited: Jun 1, 2016
  5. dustybumpers Article Contributor Founding Member

what do you have between the cab and the frame?
    The rubber "doughnuts" go between the cab and the frame, and the bolt goes through it all, holding it all together like a sandwich

6. JWC 3 TOTM Winner Founding Member

You need an isolator, bushing. A solid mount will cause a new set of issues.

56panelford likes this.
  7. stevep5b