2019 F-350 Diesel Transmission Harness Ripped Out…

Discussion in '2017 - 2022 Ford F250+ Super Duty Forum' started by PDXFJR, Jan 2, 2022.

< Previous Thread | Next Thread >
  1. PDXFJR

I’m a newbie, thanks for letting me join. Wanting some input or thoughts on a little (sarcasm) issue we have with our F-350

Sunday 12/26, the kids and I were heading to my Mom’s in Central Oregon from the Southern part of Portland. We were driving in packed snow the whole way. We were about 50 miles into our trip, running 4wd full time, average speed 55mph.

No warning, massive bang from under drivers side floor boards and every possible warning light flashed across dashboard. “4wd mechanical failure” “loss of sensors” “loss of trailer sensor” (we weren’t pulling, but do have an RV) on and on….

Truck became sluggish and rev’d rpms. I pulled over to the side of the road and discovered the entire wiring harness to the transmission had been ripped out and was hanging from the front differential. Truck would not register gear selection on dash, was stuck in one gear and 4wd. Was looking at up to a 3 hour wait for a tow. I was able to get it moving and truck ran at around 45mph and felt fine there. Once again, one gear.

Was able to get it back to the Dealership in Tigard. Not where I purchase it, just closest to house. Parked it. Once turned off truck wouldn’t restart because I don’t think it was registering in park. Oh…reverse worked fine…

Dealership didn’t touch it until Thursday night. Got a call from them about 10pm and they are trying to tell me they think a squirrel chewed the wires and that’s what caused it to get ripped out….are you kidding me?? Because they say the end of the wires look weird. Do you think it’s because they got ripped out at 55mph??? (Sarcasm again). In addition, they’re pulling the cover on the transmission as they’re concerned it took at the valves.