Engine swaps..Can this be done?

Discussion in 'General Truck Discussion' started by firehog, Nov 30, 2019.

< Previous Thread | Next Thread >
  1. firehog

If you have the time and the money you can put any type engine in any type truck, but the performance might be sketchy...But here is my dilemma.

Got a 1981 F-700 dump truck with a 370 engine and 5/2 transmission. Pretty sure it has a blown head gasket or worse and the estimates i am getting from mechanics is having me consider just a swap with a newer engine. There is a very low mileage 460 a guy has for sale but other than the complications of fabricating/welding new motor mounts and getting the transmission to marry up was wondering if anyone knows what other engines would marry up to the transmission that is there. Since there is a PTO for powering the hydraulics of the dump, would rather keep that part all intact.
    I am sure the 460 has enough HP to move this old truck but I am not a mechanic and not sure if the 370 is built a lot heavier for the extra torque needed to start moving 26 K loaded dump truck.

Another guy has a 1986 F-600with the 370 for sale but engine not ran for 3 years so maybe it too has a blown head gasket .

The current engine now has the air pump froze but this part of the state does not do smog testing so not that critical,and the original carb has been replaced with a new 4 barrel Edelbrock, not much computer if any on a 1981 F-700.
    Looking for any suggestions on engine transplants on older trucks.