Identify the Model Year Please

Discussion in '1948 - 1952 Ford F1, F2 and F3 Truck Forum' started by jehjeh, Jun 30, 2019.

< Previous Thread | Next Thread >
  1. jehjeh

Can someone please identify what year this pickup is? Thank you. DSC_0543.JPG #ad

2. 1970something TOTM Winner Founding Member

late thirties or forties. kinds hard to tell from just a rear pic, a front shot would really tell.

3. jehjeh

I thought that might be the case. I wasn't able to get ahead of it to get a picture of the front. Thanks though.

4. FTZ HAIC Staff Member Oregon Chapter Founding Member

Back fenders and window, it's pre-48 (start of the F-series). Its a 1938 - 1947, based on the back fenders and back window. Like noted, the front would tell us the rest, they changed the front in 1940, 1942. I believe minor changes by year from 1943-1947 but I'm not an expert on that era truck. I've probably got some id data in one of the numerous books I have, if you had a front picture.

5. jehjeh

Thanks. Hopefully I'll see it again one day in traffic.

6. 56panelford TOTM Winner Founding Member Canadian Chapter

I did post here this morning, said it was 1940, not sure where my post went..

7. jehjeh

Thank you. You probably answered in the other forum. I also posted in 1938-1947 as I was unsure of what era the truck was from. What is the “tell” from the rear that helps identify the year? I know that it’s much easier to tell from the front.

8. 56panelford TOTM Winner Founding Member Canadian Chapter

It could actually be a 40 or 41 because of the shape of the front fenders, only 2 years like that..

Last edited: Jul 3, 2019
  9. BKW Founding Member

Appears to be 1938/41. 1938/39 has an oval grille, 1940/41 pickup grille resembles 1939 Ford deluxe passenger car grille.

10. havi

pickup bed is newer, or made.

11. 56panelford TOTM Winner Founding Member Canadian Chapter

[​IMG]#ad

Here's a 39, I still believe the truck in question is a 40-41

12. BKW Founding Member

See next post...