MAF Sensor

Discussion in '1997 - 2003 Ford F150 Truck Forum' started by chopper, Sep 24, 2018.

< Previous Thread | Next Thread >
  1. chopper

Hi all, I just wanted to share a something with all you tenth-gen F-150 owners. I recently installed a cold air intake on my 2002 f-150 with the 5.4. I was looking for more throttle response and maybe a little more power. (The under the rumble is nice too). After it was installed I did notice some difference, but it wasn't quite what I expected in terms of throttle response. Yesterday while I was walking around in our farm/outdoor store, I seen some MAF (mass air flow sensor) cleaner on the shelf. I picked it up and thought I'd give it a try since I've never used it before. I sprated my MAF with it and than waited for it to evaporate, like the instructions said too. I put my intake back together and took it for a test drive, not expecting much. WOW was I wrong, I noticed a big difference in the throttle response and pickup. I think my truck is now taking full potential of the cold air intake.

Anyway, a lot of you guys probably know this already but I thought I'd post this for all the newbies like me. lol
    Buy some MAF cleaner!

Tags:
    JWC 3 likes this.
  2. JWC 3 TOTM Winner Founding Member

Also ,if using an oil coated filter, don't over oil it. That can coat the maf and throw the readings off.

3. chopper

Yeah, mine's a non-oiled one, but that makes sense. Thanks!

4. NRA4ever Founding Member

Don't expect much gains with a cold air intake. Your truck came with a cold air intake. It flows plenty of air. I'd get tuning and a cat back exhaust to build power

5. FTZ HAIC Staff Member Oregon Chapter Founding Member