New Owner of 1966 F-250... Need Help!

Discussion in '1961 - 1966 Ford F100, F250 and F350 Truck Forum' started by rukus83, Dec 30, 2017.

< Previous Thread | Next Thread >
  1. rukus83

Hey All,

I just purchased a truck from a guy who was using this truck as his work truck. Worked fine when I went to test drive it, worked fine when I drove it home. Tried starting it up today, the engine just whizzes and doesn't turn over. I thought it was the battery because I left it on ACC when I turned it off, not knowing that turning the key all the way to the left puts it on ACC. I bought a trickle charger to charge the battery but it's still just whizzing. I'm new to working on cars and i'm hoping to learn on this truck. I only have basic knowledge of cars and am used to the newer cars. Need any help I can get. Thanks

Help!

Tags:
  2. FTZ HAIC Staff Member Oregon Chapter Founding Member

So the starter is turning, but not turning the engine? I just want to make sure I understand before I attempt to help :)

dustybumpers likes this.
  3. Campspringsjohn Founding Member

Since the ACC was turned on, I assume the battery is likely dead. Get it charged, or try jump starting it. Also, check the battery connections. Make sure they are good and clean. And welcome to FTZ!

dustybumpers likes this.
  4. rukus83

I bought a trickle charger and charged the battery to full capacity re-installed the battery and still just whizzes. Another member said that it could be the starter or the flywheel so gonna start with that tomorrow

dustybumpers and Campspringsjohn like this.
  5. dustybumpers Article Contributor Founding Member

You mentioned in the welcome thread about posting a video for us. That would be very helpful

6. 1970something TOTM Winner Founding Member

i wonder if there is a "flat spot" on the flywheel Charlie.

rukus, since it is a 66 i am assuming it has a manual transmission rite?