Veterans Zone Service Member Volunteer Work, that they do for the communities around them

Discussion in 'Veterans Zone' started by Greywolf, Feb 20, 2017.

< Previous Thread | Next Thread >
  1. Greywolf Vet Zone Staff Alumni Founding Member

Most people don't ever hear about that kind of stuff - but a lot of good works are done by off duty people to make the place where they live a little bit better.

In early 2000, I was stationed in Norfolk Virginia (NAVSTA NORVA) and I ran across a guy who was nominally a locksmith by trade. But he had this idea that a lot of people had old outmoded computers that were gathering dust in closets and such, but they still worked. Also - at about that time local schools expected homework to be turned in PRINTED OUT, and done on a computer....

This meant if you didn't have one, the kids had to stand in line at the schools media center after school, very often. It was unrealistic.

Since most "disadvantaged" families couldn't afford one (and home PC's were still a new idea) he formed an organization (unfortunately it was later discredited) called "Komputers for Kidz 2000" - and what it was about is that you turned in the old stuff you were no longer even thinking of using so that it could be turned around and put into the hands of needy families.

***In my opinion, this is still a STELLAR idea***

I was one of the volunteer "GEEKS", and yeah, we did that. Because of inadequate screening of volunteers and a few other problems, it eventually came unraveled - but the essential idea is still sound

~ Back then, windows 3.0 was still on a lot of stuff, and you had to know DOS

ONE OF THE BIG PROBLEMS (in case anyone is interested in starting up something like this) was that you had to have registered software for the OPSYS. But this doesn't seem to be too big a deal anymore. Worse case scenario is that you could set up LYNUX on a newer system

Who else has stories of good things military people do on their off-time?