< Previous Thread | Next Thread >
  1. Nelson Chamberlain

1973 F-350 regular cab, both passenger and driver doors are stuck. Passenger door won’t unlock. I was able to reach through the hinged window, to crank the window down on both sides. I can’t force the passenger to unlock, and the driver’s side won’t open from inside or out. I’m sure it’s something simple I’m overlooking, but I’m completely new to old vehicles, and mechanics in general. Would love any suggestions.

Tags:
  2. Nelson Chamberlain

While I’m at it, are there any resources you’d suggest to learn the basics for this truck (390, 4 on the floor, 2WD dually), or troubleshooting? Hate to blow this site up with every small question I have as I try to revive this truck

3. FTZ HAIC Staff Member Oregon Chapter Founding Member

For the locks, it's probably the lock arm come undone, or frozen. You can get to it pretty easy by prying the panel off with a panel kit, after removing the window crank, inner door handle and "cup".

Nelson Chamberlain likes this.
  4. iicap

Ditto on FTZ H's suggestion for access. On the lock/unlock button/rod, neither one will go up or down??? And the door key will not make the button rods go up or down??

5. BlueOvalex

Hey Nelson, Welcome to FTZ.

When was the last time the doors were opened????
    The reason I ask is this is the first tome I have heard of BOTH doors not unlocking.
    Usually, one lock will freeze up or the rod clip will rust and get disconnected but both doors at the same time I wonder??
    Let us know how long it has been since last opened. That may lead to an answer.
    Just my .02 worth

Nelson Chamberlain likes this.
  6. Nelson Chamberlain